Introduction of Guests
(24 March 2015)

From Hansard - 24 March 2015

To view this section on video, click here and start play at 9:55.

Saskatchewan's Volunteer Crop Reporters; Saskatchewan Pulse Growers Association Members

The Speaker: — I recognize the Minister of Agriculture.

Hon. Mr. Stewart: — Thank you, Mr. Speaker. Mr. Speaker, while I’m on my feet, I would request to do two introductions. First, Mr. Speaker, I request leave for an extended introduction.

The Speaker: — The Minister of Agriculture has requested leave to do an extended introduction. Is leave granted?

Some Hon. Members: — Agreed.

The Speaker: — I recognize the Minister of Agriculture.

Hon. Mr. Stewart: — Thank you, Mr. Speaker. Mr. Speaker, to you and through you, I’d like to take this opportunity to recognize some of Saskatchewan’s longest serving volunteer crop reporters. From seeding to harvest, the observations they record provide vital information about crop development, crop progress, precipitation through our province. The volunteer crop reporters here today have served 25, 30, and 35 years in the field voluntarily recording agricultural happenings in Saskatchewan.

Mr. Speaker, I want to recognize and thank each of our volunteer crop reporters here with us today, and I ask that the volunteer crop reporters to, with their spouses, to give us a wave as I announce their names.

The 25-year recipients are: Daniel Ruest and his spouse Gilberte, RM [rural municipality] of Wise Creek; Larry and Shannon Berreth, RM of Piapot; Clarence Finkas and his spouse Kerry Obelman, RM of Silverwood; Les Wyatt and his spouse Sharon, RM of Kingsley; David Measner and his spouse Sharon, RM of Sarnia; Garry Dennis and his spouse Ruby, RM of Perdue.

Mr. Speaker, the 30-year recipients are: Derald and Irene Ahner, RM of Big Stick; Allan Aitken and his spouse Sherry, RM of Eyebrow; Darcy Kentel and his spouse Laurie, RM of Churchbridge; and seated on the floor, Mr. Speaker, Lambert Wourms and his spouse Lillian, RM of Frenchman Butte.

Mr. Speaker, the 35-year recipients are: David Thompson and his spouse Carole, RM of Kellross. And I would also like to congratulate those who could not join us today, including George Gonos and his spouse Catherine, RM of Enniskillen, 25 years; Kay Berry and her spouse Ray, RM of Battle River, 25 years; Bryan Bittner and his spouse Carol, RM of Abernethy, 25 years; Chad Andrews and his spouse Britny, RM of Pittville, 25 years; Marion Kelly and her spouse Harvey, RM of Round Valley, 30 years; and Bernard Cey and his spouse Cheryl, RM of Reford, 35 years. I’d also like to mention John Hignett of the RM of Big Arm, who suddenly passed away last fall. He would have reached his 40th year of reporting this year.

I’d now ask that all members join me in thanking these volunteer crop reporters for their service and dedication to agriculture and to Saskatchewan, and welcome them to their legislature.

Mr. Speaker, while I’m on my feet, to you and through you I would like to recognize some other guests seated in your gallery. Joining us today are members from the Saskatchewan Pulse Growers association: director and former chair Mr. Morgan Nunweiler; current Chair, Mr. Tim Wiens; and also joining them today is Tim’s wife, Mrs. Lavonne Wiens.

Mr. Speaker, I, along with my colleague the Minister of Highways, will be sitting down and meeting with these folks later this afternoon. I look forward to the discussion we will have. They will also be holding a reception tonight for all MLAs [Member of the Legislative Assembly], and I look forward to seeing everyone there. I ask all of my colleagues to join me in welcoming these guests to their Legislative Assembly

Back to 2014/2015 Legislative Session